Atumashi Monastery

Atumashi Kyaung Monastery or Incomparable Monastery is situated eastward to the Mandalay Royal Palace which takes only a few minute walk from the palace.
The structure was one of the 7 architectures ordered to construct by the King Mindon Min when he found the new capital here in Mandalay City in 1857, to replace the former capital in Amarapura. The original Atumashi Kyaung brought its style of magnificent wooden structure, built of a large amount of stucco material and put on a high platform reached by a formal ceremonial staircase. Instead of following the traditional style with multi-roof design like many other traditional monastic buildings in Mandalay, the Atumashi was a grandiose structure covered by five rectangular terraces. It is now considered one of the most stunning buildings in entire Burma.
The kyaung ever housed a nearly 9 meter image of the Buddha which was made from the king’s lacquered silk clothing. There were unevaluated treasures belonging the structure, including a big diamond hung in the forehead of the Buddha, four complete sets of the Tripitaka and others. A great deal of diamond vanished when the British Colonial had annexed the Mandalay City with the Upper Burma in 1885. Perhaps the British Colonial or other marauders should be responsible for this lost.
The building was burned down in 1890. Due to the increasing damage, the former Atumashi Kyaung was dismantled in the 1990s and reconstructed following the original style in 1996 by the Department of Burmese Archaeology, with the use of convict labor. While somewhat impressive, it does not come close to recreating the magnificence of the original building. The Atumashi Kyaung is near the Kuthodaw Pagoda, built at the same time, and next door to the Shwenandaw.

Related link Mandalay in Burma !